Plenary speakers

Mototsugu Eiraku, Kyoto University, Japan
- Mechanical forces in morphogenesis

Dr. Arnold Kriegstein, UCSF, USA
- Diversity and evolution of brain development as revealed by single cell transcriptomic approaches

Pat Levitt, University of Southern California, USA
- The North American science communication to policy experiment in brain and child development

Dr. Michelle Monje, Stanford University, USA
- Myelin plasticity in health and disease

Dr. Peggy Mason, University of Chicago, USA
- Empathically motivated pro-social behaviour

Symposia and speakers

Single cell OMIC approaches to study cell lineage and system organization
Chair: Dr Song-Hai Shi, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

  • Aaron McKenna, Dartmouth School of Medicine, Hannover, USA
  • Bing Ren, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Song-Hai Shi, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Chris Walsh, Harvard University, Boston, USA

Development and function of astrocytes
Chair: Dr Shubha Tol, Tata Institute for Fundamental Science, Mumbai, India

  • Karine Loulier, Institut des Neurosciences de Montpellier, Montpellier, France
  • Shubha Tole, Tata Institute for Fundamental Science, Mumbai, India
  • Don van Meyel, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Development of the cerebellum and cerebellar tumours
Co-Chairs: Dr. Dan GoldowitzUniversity of British Columbia, Canada  and Dr. Michael Piper, University of Queensland, Australia

  • Kathleen Millen, University of Washington, Seattle, USA      
  • Paul Northcutt, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, USA          
  • Michael Taylor, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada

Adult neurogenesis
Chair: Dr. Freda MillerHospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto, Canada

  • Fiona Doetsch, Biozentrum, Basel, Switzerland       
  • Yukiko Gotoh, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • Ana Martin-Villalba, German Cancer Research Centre, Heidelberg, Germany            
  • Armen Saghatelyan, Cervo Brain Research Centre, Quebec, Canada           
  • Alejandro Schinder, Leloir Institute Foundation, Buenos Aires, Argentina      

 Autism spectrum disorders
Chair: Dr. Dalila PintoIcahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA

  • Gaia Novarino, Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Austria
  • Dalila Pinto, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, USA
  • Jonathan Sebat, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Sagiv Shifman, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Kristiina Tammimies, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Evolution and cortical expansion of the human brain
Chair: Dr. Fumio MatsuzakiRIKEN, Japan

  • Silvia Budday, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Wieland B. Huttner, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
  • Fumio Matsuzaki, RIKEN Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research, Kobe, Japan
  • Zoltan Molnar, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Epigenetics and chromatin remodeling in neural coding
Co-Chairs: Dr. Yukiko GotohThe University of Tokyo, Japan and Ana Pombo, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

  • Nathalie Berube, Western University, London, Canada         
  • Azad Bonni, Roche, Basel, Switzerland       
  • Alec Dick, Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry, Munich, Germany
  • Ana Pombo, Humboldt University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • Zhaolan Zhou, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

 Primary cilia in normal and pathological conditions
Chair: Dr. Jeong Ho LeeKorea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

  • Eva S Anton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
  • Tamara Caspary, Emory University, Atlanta, USA
  • Joon Kim, KAIST, Daejeon, Republic of Korea
  • Jeremy Reiter, University of California, San Francisco, USA
  • Nathalie Spassky, IBENS, Paris, France

Non-coding elements and human brain development
Chair: Dr. Flora VaccarinoYale School of Medicine, USA

  • Chung Chau Hon, Riken, Yokohama, Japan
  • Flora Vaccarino, Yale University, New Haven, USA                                                             
  • Axel Visel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA
  • Anne West, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, USA



Organised by
  • Elsevier
  • ISDN